Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

When I Was 14 (Aphex Twin, Nina Kraviz) Vinyl 2LP

Trip RecordsSKU dm-5507

unforgiving techno, unreleased Aphex Twin
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Six releases in and Nina Kraviz's трип (Trip) imprint hits what might be its biggest moment so far. When I Was 14 features the first official release of an AFX track that was part of his huge SoundCloud dump in 2015. "P String" moves along at a skittering 140 bpm, complete with dissonant strings and blown out kicks. Maybe not the most functional techno, but that never seemed to be what трип was about in the first place. The rest of the comp follows suit with high tempos and dark, unsettling moods. Bjarki, who's responsible for the label's biggest hit, shows up with two tracks of unrelenting techno aggression. "Naked Naked" is the harder edge of the two, while "Baepolar" opens the release with breakbeats and a hoover-ish bass line that never seems to resolve itself. 90s outfit Barcode Population deliver a tense rager that threatens to fall off the reels at any moment. Kraviz's own "Don't Mind Wrong Keys" rides a distorted drum machine with chords that are a little more subdued than the rest of the release. The late Biogen's "Untitled" and PTU's "Taorak" close out the comp with more unhinged techno. The former driving a modulated rhythm to pieces, while the later goes for some deconstructed UK Garage. Another fantastic collection of tracks that are anything but safe.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Trip Records 2016
reviewed by Gene Koh 06/2016
UPC: 86683396


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed