Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Anchor Drops Redux (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 4LP

Nothing Too Fancy MusicSKU lp-10590

1st time on vinyl for 15th anniv., includes OG version and 2019 remix
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $45.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 459 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Anchor Drops was a tremendous step forward for Umphrey’s Mcgee. Formed in 1997 by students at the University of Notre Dame, they began as a live outfit playing originals and covers by The Dead, moe., and Phish. The band nearly broke up in late 2002 when original drummer Mike Mirro left to attend medical school, but Kris Myers picked up his sticks and the band’s sound was forever changed. 2004’s Anchor Drops is his first appearance on an UMG Record, which led the group to a heavier, more contemporary sound. This album is based in progressive rock with elements of folk music, heavy metal, and electronic music creeping into the arrangements, and let’s not forget the “Jimmy Stewart” improvised excursions. “In The Kitchen” demonstrates their hook-laden, poppier side, while "Miss Tinkle’s Overture" is dueling guitar solos over rat-tat-tat drums. An album highlight is the sequence of "Jajunk Pt. 1" > "13 Days" > Jajunk Pt. 2, a prog-rock rambler in line with song cycles by the likes of Rush and Dream Theater. This 15th Anniversary Edition is the album's first time on vinyl, and includes the original version and a 2019 remix. The original version of the album is pressed on black vinyl, the remix is pressed on blue splatter vinyl. Packaged in a gatefold sleeve, includes a 16 page booklet with lyrics and previously unseen photos. 

  • quadruple vinyl pressing
  • the 2004 version of Anchor Drops is on black vinyl, the 2019 remix is on blue splatter vinyl
  • gatefold sleeve
  • includes 16 page booklet with lyrics and previously unseen photos
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Nothing Too Fancy Music 2019
reviewed by GUERILLA TOSSER 06/2019
UPC: 020286227960


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed