Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Modern Vampires of the City (Colored Vinyl, Free MP3) LP

XL RecordingsSKU lp-5612

impressive third outing from the New York band
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $16.00
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 160 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

All you haters better watch the F out! Finally it has arrived, the Vampire Weekend record that is going to set all the naysayers straight. Rostam Batmanglij's musical expertise is fully on display, providing the bed for Ezra Koenig's musings. With "Step" the band manages to explore their influences through their lyrics and the music itself as well. While name checking Modest Mouse they ape the chorus and parts of the melody from YZ's "Who's That Girl," which was originally sampled by Oakland's Souls Of Mischief for their "Step To My Girl." Seriously meta, bros. The lyrics present on the album will draw you in and have you trying to figure out their meaning in now time. Koenig, who gave up a teach career to take his chances as a rock singer, appears to have continued down that first path in this new venue. He'll make you want to figure out what he is saying with each verse. With "Modern Vampires Of The City" Vampire Weekend shows that they have grown and matured and will continue to win more fans over. Limited edition pressing on 180 gram white vinyl.

  • music label: XL Recordings 2013
reviewed by Kool Moby 05/2013
UPC: 10452857


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed