Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

1996-2016 Sampler (DJ Sotofett, ICube, Zombie Zombie) Vinyl 12"

Versatile RecordsSKU dm-5627

unreleased house + techno honoring 20 years of influential French label
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $15.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 159 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

France's Versatile Records has forged its own path since its inception in 1996. Headed by dj and producer Gilb'R (Gilbert Cohen), the label has seen releases from a diverse group of artists including I:Cube, Pépé Bradock, Joakim and Etienne Jaumet. 1996-2016 Sampler offers up select tracks from the label's twentieth anniversary compilation, 1996/2016. Dance music might be what ties the four tracks together but they're about as varied as they come. Label stalwart I:Cube drops some house with "VVV," and new comer John Cravache turns in some rather stunning techno. The field recordings Cravache uses add an otherworldly element to what might otherwise be a straightforward cut. DJ Sotofett's "Live Jazz" mix of "Foliage," a collaboration between him and Gilb'R is the standout here. Rolling percussion that moves in and out of time is punctuated by Ethiopiques like saxophone lines while fractured Morse Code bubbles up to the surface. It's a textually engaging piece that draws you deep into its jungle world. Rounding out the 12" is Zombie Zombie cover version of New Order's seminal "The Beach," a track previously only available on bootleg 7".

  • music label: Versatile Records 2016
reviewed by Hank Ohs 11/2016
UPC: 20753032


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed