Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Forever Turned Around (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Secretly CanadianSKU lp-10778

70's soft rock-indebted psyche/country/indie hybrid, mems. Smith Westerns
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Whitney is an American indie-rock band, born from the ashes of Smith Westerns (RIP Glasslands) after that group’s breakup in 2014. Max Kakacek strums, Julien Ehrlich drums (here and in Unknown Mortal Orchestra), and they are again aided on this LP by original rhythm guitarist Ziyad Asrar and producers Bradley Cook (Hiss Golden Messenger) and Jonathan Rado (member of Foxygen, recently produced Weyes Blood and Father John Misty). 2016’s Light Upon The Lake was a sun-kissed country/psyche/indie hybrid, but Forever Turned Around softens their edges even further. Don’t get us wrong, the record isn’t some minimalist statement - it is packed with swooning falsetto, warm keys, and nearly baroque string arrangements, making them sound like a scruffier Belle & Sebastian. “Giving Up” is an immediate example - charming Wurlitzer piano, drums played on their rims, and delicate strumming. “Used To Be Lonely” is a more melancholy tune, pedal steel alongside heady leads and murmuring harmonies. “Friend of Mine” is twangy jangle with bittersweet lyrics, title track “Forever Turned Around” is decorated with brass and string flourishes. This record is pressed on limited edition forest bark colored vinyl, and comes with a printed inner sleeve with full album lyrics.

  • forest bark colored vinyl pressing
  • includes printed inner sleeve with album lyrics 
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Secretly Canadian 2019
reviewed by HOUSTON 09/2019
UPC: 656605037738


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed