Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Circles (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Real Gone MusicSKU lp-12842

truly unique mix of leftfield jazz, Moog synthesizer, acid rock + heavy funk; 1st time on vinyl in 50+ years
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$24.95 Original Price$29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"1970 was a time for heady experimentation in popular music, but very few records—and even fewer on major labels—come close to matching the stylistic ground covered by William S. Fischer’s album Circles. African-American composer / arranger / keyboardist / saxophonist Fischer grew up woodshedding with the likes of Ray Charles, Fats Domino, Muddy Waters, and Percy Mayfield…and then took a sudden left turn by studying electronic music in Vienna during the mid-‘60s. There, he met Joe Zawinul, and ended up penning five of the six tunes on Zawinul’s groundbreaking 1968 album The Rise and Fall of the Third Stream. Fischer went on to arrange for Herbie Mann, who signed him to his Embryo imprint for Atlantic Records; Circles was Fischer’s one and only release for the label. And he didn’t waste the opportunity; an utterly mindblowing mix of Sly Stone funk, heavy Hendrix-y metal, Southern soul, jazz fusion, and Stockhausen-esque explorations on the Moog synthesizer, Circles enlisted the same band (bassist Ron Carter, guitarists Eric Weissberg and Hugh McCracken) that Fischer had worked with while acting as Musical Director on Eugene McDaniels’ underground classic Outlaw, complemented by drummer Billy Cobham and a five-piece cello section. For this, its first-ever vinyl reissue, we’ve pressed 2000 copies in 'black ice' vinyl, preserved the original 'circle' cut-out stencil cover, and added liner notes by Peter Relic that feature quotes from Fischer himself. For the intrepid listener!" - Real Gone Music

  • first-ever vinyl reissue of 1970 leftfield jazz-fusion electronic holy grail
  • 'black ice' colored vinyl
  • faithful reproduction of the original die-cut gatefold packaging
  • includes printed insert w/ extensive liner notes
  • limited edition of 2000
  • music label: Real Gone Music 2022
UPC: 848064013297


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed