Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

A Promise (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Graveface RecordsSKU lp-12050

Jamie Stewart's 2003 manic freakout back in print w/ new art
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

OG Sad boys 2003. On what is still probably the most resonant Xiu Xiu release to date, frontman and principle songwriter Jamie Stewart weaves dark tales over tense, hypersexual electronic arrangements that spike and bubble back down into softness. The quiet, whispered passages are as compelling as the noise rock freakouts. Highlights include “Pink City,” “Walnut House,” “Blacks,” “Brooklyn Dodgers,” “Ian Curtis Wishlist” (Stewart: "an Ian Curtis wish list is a list of things that you have convinced yourself that you want to have happen, but you know that are never going to happen”) and “Fast Car,” which somehow manages to sound even more vulnerable than Tracy Chapman’s version. Don’t put this on in the background; this is a record that demands a close, attentive listen, one of those rare albums that’s perfectly suited for the vinyl format. This pressing replaces the original NSFW sleeve with new artwork, including the original baby doll but not the original naked Vietnamese prostitute. Full-color printed inner sleeve contains photos and extensive liner notes written in 2017 by Jamie Stewart.

  • magenta + clear splatter split colored vinyl
  • full color printed inner sleeve
  • 2017 liner notes by Jamie Stewart
  • limited edition
  • music label: Graveface Records 2018
reviewed by frau farbissina 03/2018
UPC: 643157442004


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed