Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Love Songs Vol.2 (Ethiopian Minimal Wave) Vinyl LP

Teranga BeatSKU fr-3559

obscure Ethiopian electronics from 1986, 1st time on vinyl
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Unheard sounds from Addis AbabaThe Teranga Beat label is doing god's work here with the first ever international release by Yishak Benjaw. Outside of his native Ethiopia, the brilliant composer/keyboard player remains unknown, but this proper vinyl release of Love Songs Vol. 2 hopes to change that. Recorded straight to tape in 1986 on a Casio-PT1, the songs featured here are a unique and innovative take on classical Ethiopian songs. The lo-fi quality and distinctive sound of the Casio give a hypnotic and psychedelic quality to these traditional tunes, almost as if they were Minimal Wave gems transported from another planet! Listen for yourself on "Engudaye Nesh," "Fikrehoy Temekrehi," "Segno Sra Allebign," and more. Comes in gatefold sleeve with extensive liner notes and the amazing story of how this record came to be. Download code included, recommended.

  • gatefold sleeve
  • printed insert
  • digital download included
  • music label: Teranga Beat 2016
reviewed by thumb piano 11/2016


A post shared by @turntablelab on


UPC: 10078280


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed