Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Heaven To A Tortured Mind Vinyl LP

Warp RecordsSKU lp-12277

britpop, R&B, harsh noise + free-jazz in a technicolor blender
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Every couple of years, Warp puts out a record that completely changes the game, allowing an artist to take large risks that pay off ten-fold — this is one of those. Yves Tumor, alongside producers Justin Raisen and Mahssa Taghinia, crafts a kaleidoscopic experimental rock album on Heaven To A Tortured Mind that’s both turbulent and seductive, blurring the lines between R&B, harsh noise, free-jazz, and even britpop at hyper speed. It’s disjointed in the best way possible. Album-opener “Gospel For A New Century” starts off with a Madlib-esque beat and quickly switches back and forth between a laid-back, funky verse. Lead-single “Kerosene!” sees Yves Tumor collaborate with singer-songwriter Diana Gordon, exchanging sweet nothings before the track erupts into a volcanic guitar solo. The double-parter “Romanticist” and “Dream Palette” combines Todd Edwards style chops with samples of fireworks, then completely switches up into an oversaturated, groovy bass line overtop blown-out breakbeats. 12 tracks on black vinyl with gatefold sleeve and download card.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold sleeve w/ printed insert
  • digital download included
  • music label: Warp Records 2020
reviewed by SHH! 07/2021
UPC: 801061030414


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed