Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

U.F.O.F. (Indie Exclusive Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

4ADSKU lp-10453

eerily atmospheric third album from brooklyn four-piece
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Big Thief is vibrant new growth in the well-exploited forest of the Brooklyn indie rock scene. The group is defined by the deeply personal songwriting of Adrianne Lenker, which quickly caught the ear of indie-folk incubator Saddle Creek, who released the first two records by the group (Masterpiece and Capacity). U.F.O.F. sees them finding a new home at 4AD and stepping up to a more atmospheric sound. “From” is a reworked version of a song found on Lenker’s 2018 solo effort Abysskiss, turning her simple guitar confessional into a collage of howling ambiance, her voice drifting from Joni Mitchell’s heartbreaking frailty to a growl as harrowing as Post-era Bjork. Title track U.F.O.F. (The extra F stands for ‘friend’) has rain-on-the-windows snares and wandering guitars, each note placed with the care of an impressionist painter. “Magic Dealer” ends the album with gentle synth pads that are quickly absorbed by abstract, otherworldly ambiance. This record is pressed on limited edition translucent orange colored vinyl and comes packaged in a gatefold sleeve with printed lyrics.

  • translucent orange colored vinyl
  • indie exclusive
  • gatefold sleeve
  • limited edition
  • digital download included
  • music label: 4AD 2019
reviewed by THIEF AND THE COBBLER 05/2019


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed