Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Jukebox Vinyl LP

MatadorSKU lp-9660

covers record from the charismatic vocalist
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Jukebox came out hot on the heels of Cat Power's critically acclaimed album, The Greatest. On this one she's joined by Jim White, the Dirty Three drummer who backed her on Moon Pix, and Judah Bauer, of the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion. Although they don't provide the smoothness of the Memphis old schoolers on The Greatest, they pound out a dramatic accompaniment for her sultry vocals. She covers a variety of tunes, including James Brown's "Lost Someone" and Bob Dylan's "I Believe in You". There's the original "Song for Bobby" where she recounts in conversational lyrics her youthful infatuation with Dylan. Everything wraps up with a cover of Joni Mitchell's "Blue."

  • black vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Matador 2011
reviewed by The Voice 08/11
UPC: 744861075400


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed