Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Feelin' The Spirit (Tone Poet 180g) Vinyl LP

Blue Note RecordsSKU fr-4816

decorated jazz guitarist interprets African American spirituals in 1963 w/ Herbie, Butch Warren + others
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $39.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Grant Green was Feelin’ The Spirit on this deeply soulful 1962 date that is a sibling of sorts to the great guitarist’s sanctified 1961 album Sunday Mornin’. Feelin’ The Spirit, which was the 13th album the remarkably prolific artist recorded during his first two years on the label, found Green interpreting a set of five African American spirituals —'Just A Closer Walk With Thee,' 'Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho,' 'Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen,' 'Go Down Moses,' 'Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child,' and 'Deep River.' Joining him was a state-of-the-art modern jazz line-up featuring Herbie Hancock on piano, Butch Warren on bass, and Billy Higgins on drums, with Garvin Masseaux on tambourine. In the original liner notes, writer Joe Goldberg notes that Green approaches these songs 'with affection, but as music to be played in his style. The result is a fascinating combination: the techniques of modern jazz, blues, and gospel, all applied to the spiritual." - Blue Note Records

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • housed in glossy tip-on gatefold sleeve 
  • part of Blue Note's Tone Poet 180g audiophile remaster series
  • all-analog remaster cut from the original tapes
  • limited edition
  • featuring Grant Green (g), Herbie Hancock (p), Butch Warren (b), Billy Higgins (d), Garvin Masseaux (perc)
  • original release year: 1963
  • music label: Blue Note Records 2022
UPC: 602435732138


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed