Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Movies Vinyl LP

Gronland RecordsSKU lp-10271

sound-collage-rock from former CAN founder
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$13.95 Original Price$19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 139 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Holger Czukay was sampling before it was cool. The co-founder of CAN's solo debut album post-CAN finds the bassist exploring wildly varied instrumentation combined with a plethora of film, television, and short-wave samples. Movies places Czukay in the same vein as David Byrne and Brian Eno's 1981 My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts, as both albums integrating sampled vocals and found sounds, including a host African and Middle Eastern rhythms. Czukay takes traditional compositional rules and throws them to the wayside, bewildering the listener from the outset with the funky "Cool In The Pool". “Oh Lord Give Us More Money” features appearances from most of CAN's members (including god-drummer Jaki Liebezeit, Michael Karoli and Irmin Schmidt) and seamlessly shifts from loose and exploratory to tightly-wound in a single measure, much like their prior group work. The song almost feels like a cross between earlier CAN (check Future Days) and Station To Station era Bowie. Throughout the album Czukay paints with sound through editing, pulling from sports announcers, mariachi horns, Korean orchestras, warbling sopranos, and Farsi soundtracks. Blurring boundaries between Germany, Iran, and Africa, this album does not disappoint and has been criminally underrated for too long. Czukay drifts away from the seriousness of CAN and opts for more of a Lee 'Scratch' Perry sort of freedom. 4 tracks in all. Released by Gronland Records.

  • Gronland Records 2018
reviewed by RBG 12/2018
UPC: 53673818


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed