Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Princess Mononoke - Image Album Vinyl LP

Studio Ghibli RecordsSKU lp-11262

conceptual soundtrack for Miyazaki's 1997 epic, 1st time on vinyl
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $49.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 499 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The conceptual soundtrack to one of Studio Ghibli's most beloved films on vinyl for the 1st time! Princess Mononoke was written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki and released in 1997, quickly becoming the highest-grossing film of the year in Japan and held the box office record for domestic films until Spirited Away was released a few years later. It's no wonder why the film holds a special place in the hearts of so many anime lovers considering the gorgeous animation, fantastical storytelling and overall tone and mood (slightly-more-mature compared to earlier Ghibli films). In-house composer Joe Hisaishi was tasked with soundtracking the film, but before that happened, this 'Image Album' (not to be confused with the soundtrack) was made. Like other Image Albums, these songs were created before the animated film was completed, as a conceptual rough draft based on notes from Miyazaki about what the score might sound like. For this first time vinyl edition of the Image Album, the audio has been newly remastered and the packaging is exquisite, with full color outer sleeve, obi strip, and printed insert with illustrations from the film and liner notes. The accompanying soundtrack and symphonic suite are also available on vinyl for the first time.

  • black vinyl pressing (please note: actual pressing color and packaging may differ from mock-up photo)
  • 1st time on vinyl
  • housed in full color sleeve w/ obi strip + liner notes
  • newly remastered sound
  • limited edition
  • music label: Studio Ghibli Records 2020
  • also available: Princess Mononoke Soundtrack | Princess Mononoke Symphonic Suite
reviewed by: complete techhead 04/2020
UPC: 4988008087611


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed