Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Hive Mind Vinyl 2LP

Columbia RecordsSKU lp-9862

effortlessly cool alt r&b
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $35.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 359 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Originally an offshoot of LA creative collective Odd Future, it was Ego Death, The Internet's Grammy-nominated third LP, that put Syd, Matt Martian and the rest of the gang at the forefront of the young, cool brand of r&b. Following the record's success, however, the members decided to take a break to pursue solo projects (Syd dropped Fin to much critical acclaim). A few years later and some time spent apart, the group comes together again and puts forth a much more refined full-length. Employing both live and programmed instrumentation, the production blurs the line between analog and digitally processed sounds, and the band is able to capture an extremely groovy, loose feel that often defines the best records, old and new, of the genre it is operating in. There is also an uncomplicated, youthful vigor that fuels the tracks, and Syd's vocals, which a lot of the effortlessness of Hive Mind is owed to, lays down the foundation of the serene, sonically forward and deeply intimate LP. Highlights include "La Di Da," "Come Over," "Come Together," and "Roll (Burband Funk)," but trust, there is not one filler on here—press play and enjoy from beginning to end.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold jacket w/ printed inner sleeves
  • digital download included
  • music label: Columbia 2018
reviewed by pocari papi 08/18
UPC: 33489520


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed