Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Live from Trona (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Carpark RecordsSKU lp-8176

live, full-band renditions of new & old songs from Chaz Bundick
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $18.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 189 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

From his sample-heavy chillwave days of Causers of This to the guitar rock of 2015's What For?, Chaz Bundick aka Toro Y Moi has continued to shift his sound. For Live from Trona, an audio-visual project recorded live in a dried up basin at Trona, California (about 3 hours north of LA), Bundick enlists a full band to revisit songs from his catalog, all the while introducing a new song, on which he collaborated with twin jazz duo The Mattison 2 ("JBS"). The mood leans heavily toward psychedelic rock (accompanying video really complements the tone and ups the outworldliness, check it out on Vimeo, discount code included w/ record), and the sound is more fleshed out, thanks to the 5-instrument backup. Check out the instrumental opener "Divina" and "Still Sound" from Underneath The Pine, or "Say That" and "High Living" from Anything In Return. "Grown Up Calls," also from the 2013 album, is another highlight, and make sure to listen to the aforesaid collaborative number.

  • desert pink vinyl pressing
  • includes digital download
  • includes discount code for Vimeo film of same title
  • music label: Carpark Records 2016
reviewed by kanim 11/2016
UPC: 27961992


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed